I have been brainstorming ways to incorporate technology into the morning announcements that Mrs. B does daily. Students run and act in the closed circuit broadcast. The announcements are very repetitive and students do not pay attention while the announcements are on. I asked Mrs. B and Mrs. T if I could become more involved with the announcements, and they happily agreed. I discovered that we are very limited due to the outdated broadcasting equipment that our school has. Me and Mrs. B have discussed writing a grant to help us acquire new equipment, but until then I want to spice up our announcements. After doing some research, I have found a website that is an excellent example of a morning announcement show. Amherst Middle School uses technology in their daily program to get the audiences' attention. Below is the website for the Amherst Middle School morning show.
http://amhersttechtv.org 
I would like to incorporate some of the ideas into our program. I am currently doing research on using podcasts to create the announcements. Also, I have been throwing around the idea of video taping the announcements and uploading the video to an editing program such as iMove. We could broadcast the announcements using the computer instead of using the broadcasting equipment we currently have. This will decrease the many of the obstacles we are now facing. I believe that a project like this will challenge me, and allow me to discover even more web 2.0 tools that I will be able to use in the future.



Leave a Reply.