Today Mrs. B showed me how to process items into our system. She informed me that all of Douglas County uses Destiny. She said most counties used this system. The first step in processing an item into the automated system is to go to the catalog tab. Next you go to the tab link and the location link to find your county. After you have found your county you go to add copies and then scan the barcode. Since I am extremely lucky, I was able to experience processing items when the barcode is broken (which by the way is also a lot of fun when you have to check students in and out of the library as well). Anyways, so I had to type in the barcode for each item, and hit add copies. Most of the book are already entered into the system since it is so popular. I processed 10 teacher resource books. I gave each book a school specific barcode and call number for our school. Since our label maker is also broke...I had to write these on a sticker and place them on the books temporarily. For example, one book's call number was PRO 372 PAV. I entered the new call number and barcode into the system. In addition to the normal processing procedure, since we are a Title I school if the books were purchased with Title I funds we have to put that into the system as well. I am glad that our county uses Destiny, because I feel like it is very user friendly. Ten books down...I hope many more to go!   : )



Leave a Reply.