I have spent a lot of my spare time this week in the media center taking inventory. I was put in charge of completing inventory of the professional collection in our media center...I was amazed at how many resources we had that I was unaware of. The professional collection is placed on multiple bookcases throughout the media center, and it is not well organized. I was surprised to see that our media center houses many of the professional learning books that I have actually purchased myself, including some books I have used in my graduate classes. The professional development collection is one of my areas of focus for my facility plan. I know that these resources are just sitting and collecting dust when they could be very useful to many staff members at our school. I would like to add the titles to my BUES Professional Learning Community site, so that teachers are more aware of what we have to offer. I was also surprised that many items had never been processed into the system to begin with. After talking to Mrs. B I found out that this could be caused by the sheer volume of items that we have, and that we receive at one time. I also have found out this week that inventorying items is very monotonous! Aside from completing the inventory, I have also been weeding some items from our reference collection, as well as materials that are worn out. The weeding process, like the inventory process, is very simple. All I have to do is find the book in Destiny and delete the title. You have to make sure that you mark the track as weeded copy box and then press okay. I weeded 10 Georgia almanacs from 2006, because Mrs. B ordered 2012 copies to replace them. She told me that before you weed items you need to hold onto the copies until you order a replacement. I have learned a lot this week.

8/2/2012 04:18:57 pm

Nike Air Max 2012 is helpful for running and movement. The comfortable design will easily help reduce the impact force. Nike Air Max 2012 features high-end technology and also combines with streamlined to deliver maximum comfort and cushioning for runners.

Reply



Leave a Reply.